jump to navigation

The Indiana Jones void January 5, 2010

Posted by Cesar in gaming me.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I noticed I’ve been having this conversation frequently: “don’t you miss the great action/adventure movies we had in the past?” Darn, it makes me feel old, missing something from more than a decade ago. But the point is that many do miss those great movies. I realized that I did too when I stopped to think about the current action movie actors. After Bruce Willis, Stallone, Schwarzenegger and Harrison Ford gave up on the action, no one was able to fill in their shoes. No wonder we saw many of them coming back to the genre for reruns (except for the Governor, who nonetheless saw a new Terminator movie be released certainly because of the success of Terminator 2). Don’t get me wrong: I like Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham, but it is a different league. No comparison. They make decent action movies, but no remarkable action characters I guess.

Amongst all top action movies, however, the ones I miss the most are the Indiana Jones ones. The closest thing we had to The Last Crusade was, to me, The Kingdom of The Crystal Skull, another movie with the fedora hat hero (did you guys know his inseparable hat was made in Brazil?). Not as good, but still fun. Other attempts in the same style, like The Mummy and Sahara, were good, National Treasure not by a mile. But again: no comparison.

I don’t know if the appeal of these movies slowed down or if the lack of top action stars is behind the slowdown, but the truth is Indiana Jones and John McClane left a void that has yet to be filled.

Well… At least in the big screen. Because if you, like me, miss top action movies and happen to be a gamer, stop reading and go play Uncharted 2 right now. You know, I have had a 360 for a while, and it was only by the middle of last year that I got the PS3. But the two best movie-like games I have ever played were on the Sony platform: first MGS4 and now Uncharted 2. Among Thieves is an amazing game, great to play and great to watch. Such an immersive experience. So much that I never play it when I don’t have much time because I don’t want to stop in the middle of a chapter. I’m always looking for the next cut-scene, the next plot twist.

This week I am busy at work again. So I can’t see myself playing any time soon. I can’t wait for the next chapter. But at least I found a way to get my Indiana Jones fix.

See you space cowboys…

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

