jump to navigation

Sony’s iPhone: I like it! March 4, 2010

Posted by Cesar in gaming me.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Warning: don’t believe the picture. I don’t know why but I couldn’t resist doing this. Anyway, we have to be careful with these news, rumors of a Sony Ericsson PSP were pretty strong in 2007 – 2008 and it ended up being nothing but talk. But the Wall Street Journal reported recently that Sony might be investing in a new line of gaming handhelds. It would be constituted of a mix PSP + phone to compete with the iPhone and another big one to fight the iPad. I can see the cheesy names already: PSPhone and PSPad. LOL.

I’m not sure it is going to work out. It could, Sony has knowledge in both areas and I always appreciated Sony Ericsson phones. And let’s not forget it is Sony we are talking about. They are huge and definitely have the money to make it happen. On the other hand, Apple is a very strong competitor and the iPhone has a loyal consumer (fan?) base. But for a while now I believe the decisive factor for these devices is software. What about the Playstation Network? Isn’t that good enough? It could be. The foundation is there. If Sony ensures a solid application store and stimulates studios to develop for the platform, that’s a phone I will want to buy.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the iPhone. But it is not so great as a gaming platform and not so great as a phone either! A PSP phone will probably be a so so phone too, but on the other hand it will be a great gaming platform.

I guess the new download media platform Sony is about to launch will be a good thermometer. Let’s see how that goes.

See you space cowboys…

Comments»

1. max bad - March 6, 2010

dont tell pall about this…

PS look at this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3XPUdW9Ryg&feature=player_embedded

Cesar - March 6, 2010

LOL.

Man, that video is cool!!! I can’t see that being used though. Too weird!


Leave a Reply

